Pin on Pinterest

   The Rockwall ISD Education Foundation’s Spring 2017 Innovative Teaching Grant Recipients were recently announced and presented to the RISD Trustees during their April meeting. The REF’s Grants & Awards Committee met in March to review all the submissions and selected five applications to approve for funding.

   The grant “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boys and Girls of Rockwall ISD” was submitted by Jennifer Doss-Virginia Reinhardt Elementary, Rebekah Hawkins-Ouida Springer Elementary and Gayle Kidd and Bridgette King-Dorris Cullins-Lake Pointe Elementary. Funding for this grant totaled $4,065.08 and will reach every elementary campus in the District. Three grants, totaling $1,930.02, were awarded at Billie Stevenson Elementary and all were collectively submitted by Randi Kerby, Janay McDowell and Tonya Raglin. The grants were entitled “Ero-What?”, “It’s a Martin Life” and “Weather Watchers”. An individual grant in the amount of $676.22 was also awarded to Reinhardt’s Jennifer Doss for her “Reinventing the Wheel” submission.

   2017 marks the 13th year of the Education Foundation’s Innovative Teaching Grant program and is the longest standing initiative within the REF. More than $484,000 dollars have funded 298 grants and impacted over 77,000 RISD students. The program recognizes creative, engaging approaches that exceed the core expectation of classroom curriculum.

  The RISD Education Foundation, Inc. was chartered in 2003 and is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation. The REF’s mission is to enrich education for RISD students and provide teachers with additional resources that otherwise wouldn’t be available. For more information, visit

People in Photo:

Front row: Randi Kerby, Janay McDowell

Back row: Kendall Pierce (REF), Shana Young (REF), Kenda Culpepper (REF), Lesli Johnson (REF), Dr. J.J. Villarreal, Bridgette King, Rebekah Hawkins, Gayle Kidd, Jennifer Doss, Whitney Abbott (REF), David Warren (REF)

Not pictured: Tonya Raglin

Recognize 2350 Views
Related Posts